Activist Toolkit

Learn about helpful activist tools here

We update this page frequently

RESEARCH

Follow the Money

Want to know who is funding your local politicians? Go to Follow the Money

The website publishes a federal and  50-state database of contributions documenting $50+ billion, plus more than 2 million state lobbyist-client relationships that are registered annually. Recent expansions include selected local-level data, collecting independent spending reports for federal campaigns and in 31 states, and lobbying spending in 20 states.

MapLight California

Visit this site to discover financial contributions to state-level candidates and ballot measures. This data can be quickly and easily browsed using MapLight’s California Power Search or Maplight’s California Independent Expenditures Search. Both use the California Secretary of State’s data.

The site also includes contributions made to Assemblymembers and Senators in the California State Legislature . This data is obtained from the National Institute on Money in State Politics. Using this data, we show how much interest groups like gas and electric utilities and attorneys and law firms contribute to your representatives in Sacramento.

 

ONLINE PETITIONS

The ACLU has a page to sign online petitions and emails to federal elected officials here

VIDEO

Find Agendas and Watch Video of Ventura County Supervisor and other meeting board meetings here

Watch City of Fillmore Commission, Committee, and Council meetings here

Watch City of Santa Paula Commission, Committee, and Council meetings here

Watch City of Simi Valley Agency, City Council, and Task Force meetings here

Watch City of Ventura Commission, Committee, and Council meetings  here

 

ORGANIZING ADVICE ARTICLES

4 Not-So-Easy Ways to Dismantle Racism in the Food System
Our food system is built on stolen land and exploited labor. Here’s what we can do it fix it.
Read article here
Five Classist Pitfalls to Resist in Your Activism

In a moment of potentially revolutionary activism and mobilization, don’t let classism undermine your efforts.

Read article here

FIND YOUR ELECTED OFFICIALS

 

Ventura County has a handy app to locate your federal, state, county, and city elected officials

Find it here

Once you find the name of your representative, scroll down this page to find their contact information.

If you’re not registered to vote, you can do so now.  Click here to register.

 

CONTACT INFORMATION

 

FEDERAL:

US Senators

CA State Senator: Sen. DIANNE FEINSTEIN (D)

Phone: (202) 224-3841

(310) 914-7300

Fax: (202) 228-3954

Click here to email Senator Feinstein

*Visit Senator Feinstein’s website for local office locations

CA State Senator: Sen. KAMALA HARRIS (D)

Phone: (202) 224-3553

(213) 894 – 5000

Fax: (202) 224-2200

Click here to email Senator Harris

*Visit Senator Harris’ website for local office locations.

US House of Representatives

CA 26th Congressional District: Rep. JULIA BROWNLEY (D)
300 E. Esplanade Drive, Suite 470
(805) 379-1779

http://juliabrownley.house.gov/contact

CA 24th Congressional District: Rep. SALUD CARBAJAL (D)

Represents a small part of Ventura County
360 S. Hope Ave.
Suite C-301
Santa Barbara, CA 93105
 (805)-730-1710

 

CA 25th Congressional District: Rep. STEVE KNIGHT (R)
Represents parts of Simi Valley
1445 E. Los Angeles Avenue, #206

Simi Valley, CA 93065
(805) 581-7130

 

CA 30th Congressional District: Rep. BRAD SHERMAN (D)
Represents parts of Simi Valley

WAYS TO CONTACT

Use ResistBot to fax your Members of Congress.  ResistBot is probably the most efficient way to get messages to your Members of Congress.  To use it, all you have to do is text the word “resist” to 50409, then the bot asks you a few questions, determines who your Members of Congress are (you only need to do this once) and then you simply type your message to your Members of Congress in a text message and the bot formats it in a nice letter template and faxes it for you!

 

ONLINE NATIONAL PETITIONS

 

The ACLU page to sign online petitions and emails to federal elected officials here

 

STATE:

California State Senate

State Senate (District 19): Sen. HANNAH-BETH JACKSON (D)

Represents Santa Barbara County and a portion of Ventura County. It extends from Santa Maria in the northwest along the 101 corridor and captures Buellton, Solvang, Goleta, Santa Barbara, San Buenaventura, the Santa Clara Valley (Santa Paula, Fillmore, Piru) and Oxnard, Port Hueneme and Camarillo on the southeastern border.

300 E. Esplanade Drive, Suite 430
Oxnard, CA

(805) 988-1940

http://sd19.senate.ca.gov/contact-me

State Senate (District 27): Sen. HENRY STERN (D)

Represents parts of Los Angeles and Ventura counties

5016 N. Parkway Calabasas, Suite 222
Calabasas, CA 91302
Phone: (818) 876-3352
Phone: (805) 815-3917
Fax: (818) 876-0802

Website here

California State Assembly

State Assembly (District 37): Rep. MONIQUE LIMON (D)

Represents parts of Oxnard, Fillmore, Ojai, Santa Paula, Ventura and South Santa Barbara County

89 S. California Street, Suite F
Ventura, CA 93001
(805) 641-3700

https://lcmspubcontact.lc.ca.gov/PublicLCMS/ContactPopup.php?district=AD37

State Assembly (District 44): Rep. JACQUI IRWIN (D)

Represents parts of Oxnard, Thousand Oaks, Camarillo, Moorpark, Port Hueneme, Westlake Village

2301 E. Daily Drive
Suite 200
Camarillo, CA 93010
Tel: (805) 482-1904
Fax: (805) 482-1274

230 West 7th Street
Suite B
Oxnard, CA 93030
(805) 483-4488

https://a44.asmdc.org/

State Assembly (District 38): Rep. DANTE ACOSTA

Represents Simi Valley and Oak Park

State Assembly (District 45): Rep. MATT DABABNEH 

Represents Westlake Village in Ventura County

COUNTY:

Find Agendas and Watch Video of Video of Ventura County Supervisor and other meeting board meetings here

District 1 – Supervisor Steve Bennett

Communities Represented by Supervisor Bennett:
San Buenaventura, Montalvo, Saticoy, Ojai Valley, City of Ojai, Upper Ojai Valley, Riverpark, Northwest Oxnard, and North Coast.

00 S. Victoria Ave.
Ventura, CA 93009
Phone: (805) 654-2703
Fax: (805) 654-2226

steve.bennett@ventura.org

District 2 – Supervisor Linda Parks

Communities Represented by Supervisor Parks:
Thousand Oaks, Newbury Park, Westlake Village, Oak Park, Bell Canyon, Hidden Valley, Lake Sherwood, Somis, Las Posas Valley, California State University Channel Islands, Portions of the Oxnard Plain, Santa Rosa Valley, Naval Base Ventura County Point Mugu, California Air National Guard, and South Coast.

 625 West Hillcrest Drive
Thousand Oaks, CA 91360

Phone: (805) 214-2510
Fax: (805) 480-0585
Toll Free Number:
(800) 660-5474

Linda.Parks@ventura.org

District 3 – Supervisor Kelly Long

Communities Represented by Supervisor Long:
Camarillo, Port Hueneme, Southeast Oxnard, East Oxnard Plain, Santa Paula, Fillmore, Piru, East Lockwood Valley, and Eastern Portion of Naval Base Ventura County Port Hueneme.

1203 Flynn Rd, Suite 220
Camarillo, CA 93012
Office: 805-654-2276
Fax: 805-654-2226

kelly.long@ventura.org
To Schedule An Nancy.Phillips@ventura.org

District 4 – Supervisor Peter C. Foy

Communities Represented by Supervisor Foy:
Simi Valley, Moorpark, Santa Susana Knolls, Box Canyon, Chatsworth Peak, Home Acres, Sinaloa Lake, and Tierra Rejada Valley.

980 Enchanted Way, #203
Simi Valley, CA 93065

Phone: 805.955.2300
Fax: 805.658.4524
supervisor.foy@ventura.org

District 5 – Supervisor John C. Zaragoza

Communities Represented by Supervisor Zaragoza:
Oxnard, Oxnard Shores, Mandalay Bay, Silver Strand, Hollywood Beach, Hollywood By the Sea, Channel Islands Harbor, El Rio, Nyeland Acres, Del Norte Area, Oxnard College, Oxnard Plain, Strickland and Portion of Naval Base Ventura County Port Hueneme.

800 S. Victoria Ave. L#1860
Ventura, CA 93009

Phone: (805) 654-2613

CITY:

CAMARILLO

Jan McDonaldMayor  council@cityofcamarillo.org
Charlotte CravenVice Mayor  council@cityofcamarillo.org
Mike MorganCouncilmember  council@cityofcamarillo.org
Kevin KildeeCouncilmember  council@cityofcamarillo.org
Tony TrembleyCouncilmember  council@cityofcamarillo.org

FILLMORE

Carrie Broggie Mayor cbroggie@ci.fillmore.ca.us
Manuel Minjares Mayor Pro Tem mminjares@ci.fillmore.ca.us
Diane McCall City Council Member dmccall@ci.fillmore.ca.us
Mark Austin City Council Member maustin@ci.fillmore.ca.us
Tim Holmgren City Council Member timh@ci.fillmore.ca.us

Watch City of Fillmore Commission, Committee, and Council meetings here

MOORPARK

Janice S. Parvin, Mayor jparvin@moorparkca.gov
David Pollock, Councilmember dpollock@moorparkca.gov
Roseann Mikos, Ph.D. Councilmember rmikos@moorparkca.gov
Ken Simons, Councilmember ksimons@moorparkca.gov
Mark Van Dam, Mayor Pro Tem mvandam@moorparkca.gov

OJAI

Johnny Johnston, Mayor E-Mail 
William Weirick, Mayor Pro Tem  E-Mail 
Paul Blatz, Council Member  E-Mail 
Suza Francina, Council Member  E-Mail 
Randy Haney, Council Member E-Mail 

OXNARD

Tim Flynn, Mayor timbflynn@gmail.com
Carmen Ramírez, Esq., Mayor Pro Tem carmen4oxnard@gmail.com
Bryan A. MacDonald, Councilman bryan.macdonald@oxnard.org
Oscar Madrigal, Councilmember oscar.madrigal@oxnard.org
Bert E. Perello, Councilmember bert.perello@oxnard.org

PORT HUENEME

Tom FiggMayor memberfigg@ci.port-hueneme.ca.us
Jim Hensley, Mayor Pro Tem  hensleyhim@outlook.com
Jonathan SharkeyCouncil Member membersharkey@ci.port-hueneme.ca.us
Sylvia Munoz SchnoppCouncil Member  sylviaschnopp@yahoo.com
Will BergCouncil Member wberg@ci.port-hueneme.ca.us

Watch City of Port Hueneme Commission, Committee, and Council meetings here

SANTA PAULA

Jenny Crosswhite, Mayor info@ci.santa-paula.ca.us
Ginger Gherardi, Vice Mayor info@ci.santa-paula.ca.us
John Procter, Councilmember info@ci.santa-paula.ca.us
Martin F. Hernandez, Councilmember info@ci.santa-paula.ca.us
Clint Garman, Councilmember  info@ci.santa-paula.ca.us

Watch City of Santa Paula Commission, Committee, and Council meetings here

SIMI VALLEY

Bob Huber, Mayor  bhuber@simivalley.org
Mike Judge, Mayor Pro Tem  mjudge@simivalley.org
Glen T. Becerra, Council Member gbecerra@simivalley.org
Keith L. Mashburn, Council Member  kmashburn@simivalley.org
Dee Dee Cavanaugh, Council Member  dcavanaugh@simivalley.org

Watch City of Simi Valley Agency, City Council, and Task Force meetings here

THOUSAND OAKS

Claudia Bill-de la Peña, Mayor claudia4slowgrowth@roadrunner.com
Andrew P. Fox, Mayor Pro Tem cnclmanfox@aol.com
Al Adam, Councilmember aadam@toaks.org
Rob McCoy, Councilmember rmccoy@toaks.org
Joel Price, Councilmember jprice@toaks.org

Public hearing notices here

VENTURA

Erik Nasarenko, Mayor enasarenko@cityofventura.ca.gov
Neal Andrews, Deputy Mayor nandrews@cityofventura.ca.gov
Cheryl Heitmann, Councilmember cheitmann@cityofventura.ca.gov
Matt LaVere Councilmember mlavere@cityofventura.ca.gov
James L. Monahan, Councilmember jmonahan@cityofventura.ca.gov
Mike Tracy, Councilmember mike.tracy@cityofventura.ca.gov
Christy Weir, Councilmember cweir@cityofventura.ca.gov

Watch City of Ventura Commission, Committee, and Council meetings here

 

RUNNING FOR OFFICE?

 

If you’d like to learn more, check out this list of organizations that provide mentoring to people interested in running for local, state, and federal office (courtesy of Sister District).  

If you’re a scientist and are thinking about running for office,  314 Action has some great information for you.

 

%d bloggers like this: